The Song-Beverly Consumer Warranty Act provides an array of protections for consumers who buy motor vehicles in California. But even if you do purchase what turns out to be a lemon you may still have to pay what’s known as a usage fee. This is money that the manufacturer will be entitled to charge, and it will be deducted from the money that you get for your total settlement. The fee represents the use you have gotten out of the vehicle so far.
Whether you leased or purchased a lemon car – and whether you get the car replaced or receive a refund – this usage fee may apply. Here is how the amount is determined.
(miles driven)/(total life of the car (in miles))x price of car = usage fee
It’s important to note that the odometer number that you use to calculate the usage fee depends on when you first brought the car in for the defect identifies the car as a lemon.
To clarify, let’s use another example. Say after 2,000 miles, you discover a problem with your headlamp. You take it in. It gets fixed. Then 3,000 miles later (when your odometer reads 5,000 miles), the transmission fails. The authorized dealer tries (and fails) to fix the transmission four times.
So do you calculate your usage fee based on the 2,000-mile number (when your headlamp failed) or the 5,000-mile number (when the transmission first went)?
Answer: you use the 5,000-mile number.
If you have further questions about the usage fee calculation, or if you need help with any aspect of California’s Lemon Law, please connect with LemonLaw123.com today at 833-536-5297 (or email us through this website). We’ve won 99% of our Lemon Law cases – let us help you today.